Notebooks & Journals
Which Moleskine to Buy, and Which One You Are Probably Looking At
Moleskine sells a dozen black notebooks that look nearly identical in a photograph and are not remotely the same product. Here is the range sorted by what each one is for.

How this page is funded. Buying through a link here earns us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order we recommend it in, and we have not handled these products ourselves — see how we pick and the full disclosure.
The short answer
If you want the notebook everyone pictures, it is the Classic hardcover. If you want a diary, you want one of the planners, and the question is weekly or daily. If you are buying a gift and do not know when they will start, buy the undated one. Those three sentences settle most of this.
How this page is organized
Not as a ranking, because these are not competing products - they are different tools wearing the same cover. Each one is placed by the job it does, and the specification that decides it is stated first. This site has handled none of them; everything below is what Moleskine publishes on the listing.
- Blank pages to write in - the Classic hardcover, or the Volant pocket pair if you want something to carry.
- A printed year - the 2027 weekly for appointments, the 2027 daily if you write more than a line a day.
- A year that starts whenever you do - the undated weekly, which is also the only safe one to give as a gift.
The range, on published specifications
| Book | Format | Size | Published detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classic, Large, dotted | Blank notebook | 5" x 8.25" | 70 gsm, 240 pages, FSC certified, acid free |
| 2027 Weekly, Large | Dated diary | 5" x 8.25" | January to December 2027, 144 pages, stickers and rear pocket |
| Undated Weekly, Large | Undated diary | 5" x 8.25" | 12 months, undated, hard cover; paper weight not published |
| 2027 Daily, Large | Dated diary | 5" x 8.25" | One page per day, 400 pages |
| Volant, Pocket, ruled | Soft pocket pair | 3.5" x 5.5" | Set of 2, 80 pages; paper weight not published |
Quick picks
Ranked for the person doing the buying. Every pick names who it is wrong for.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover The notebook everyone knows by sight, on 70 gsm paper that is lighter than its main rival and honest about it. | The recognizable one | |
| 2 | ![]() Moleskine Classic 12-Month 2027 Weekly Planner, Large Week on the left, ruled notes on the right, and a cover the recipient will recognize before they open it. | The safe gift for almost anyone | $29.00 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded |
| 3 | ![]() Moleskine Classic 12-Month Undated Weekly Planner, Large The same weekly layout with the dates left blank, which quietly removes the worst risk in gifting a planner. | Gifting without knowing when they will start | $30.23 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded |
| 4 | ![]() Moleskine Classic 12-Month 2027 Daily Planner, Large A full page per day, 400 pages of it, for the person whose weekly planner is always overflowing. | Someone who writes a lot every day | $31.00 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded |
| 5 | ![]() Moleskine Volant Journal, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 Two soft-cover pocket notebooks at the same 3.5 by 5.5 inch footprint, ruled, from the brand everybody knows by sight. | The recognizable pocket option | $8.88 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded |

1. The recognizable one
Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover
The notebook everyone knows by sight, on 70 gsm paper that is lighter than its main rival and honest about it.
70 gsm versus 80 is the entire technical argument between this and the Leuchtturm1917, and it is a real one: lighter paper shows more of what is on the reverse. Whether that matters depends entirely on what the recipient writes with.
What Moleskine has that its rival does not is recognition. For a gift that is worth something concrete - the recipient knows what it is before they open the card.
No page numbers and no contents page. For freeform notes that is irrelevant; for an indexed journal it is 240 numbers to write by hand.
| Paper weight | 70 gsmMoleskine publishes this, and it is 10 gsm under the Leuchtturm1917.Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
|---|---|
| Pages | 240Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
| Size | Large, 5" x 8.25"Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
| Paper stock | FSC certified, acid free (pH neutral)Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
| Page numbers | Not publishedPages are not numbered and there is no printed contents page. A bullet journal user will number them by hand. |
What it does well
- Universally recognized, which does real work in a gift.
- FSC certified, acid-free paper with a published weight.
- Slightly thinner block than the Leuchtturm for the same page count, so it carries better.
What it does not
- 70 gsm ghosts more than 80 gsm with gel and fountain pens.
- No pre-numbered pages or contents page.
Skip this: if you know they use a fountain pen. Buy the Rhodia at 90 gsm instead and spend the difference on ink. See Leuchtturm1917 versus Moleskine.

2. The safe gift for almost anyone
Moleskine Classic 12-Month 2027 Weekly Planner, Large
Week on the left, ruled notes on the right, and a cover the recipient will recognize before they open it.
#ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded
144 pages across 52 weeks is roughly a spread per week and very little else. That is the point: this is a calendar with room for notes, not a system that asks the recipient to adopt a method.
The recognition matters more than the specification here. A Moleskine is the one planner a non-planner-person can receive without feeling they have been handed homework, which is why it is the default gift and why it is the pick when you do not know their setup.
Do the arithmetic before you assume it is expensive. A 52-week dated planner used all year is a per-week cost most buyers never work out, and it is usually smaller than the coffee they bought while shopping for it.
| Dated range | January to December 2027Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Weekly Planner, Large |
|---|---|
| Size | Large, 5" x 8.25"Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Weekly Planner, Large |
| Pages | 144Weekly spread with ruled notes facing.Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Weekly Planner, Large |
| Included | Stickers and an expandable rear pocketSource: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Weekly Planner, Large |
| Paper weight | Not publishedMoleskine publishes 70 gsm for the Classic notebook line but does not state a weight on this planner listing. Treat it as a fountain-pen risk until proven otherwise. |
What it does well
- January to December 2027, so it is in season for the whole gifting window and the whole year after it.
- The ruled facing page absorbs people who take notes but do not keep a separate notebook.
- Hard cover, elastic closure, and a rear pocket, so it survives a bag.
What it does not
- Moleskine does not publish a paper weight for this planner, so fountain-pen users are buying blind.
- 144 pages means no daily space at all if the recipient wants a page per day.
Skip this: if they already run a system. A dated planner is the one gift that assumes you know how somebody plans, and planner people are particular. Buy them a pen instead.

3. Gifting without knowing when they will start
Moleskine Classic 12-Month Undated Weekly Planner, Large
The same weekly layout with the dates left blank, which quietly removes the worst risk in gifting a planner.
#ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded
A dated planner given in December has a deadline attached to it. If the recipient does not start on January 1 they are already behind, and if they already bought their own for 2027 your gift is dead on arrival.
Undated removes both problems at once. It also removes the one thing a dated planner does for free, which is the dates, so somebody has to write twelve months of them in.
This is the pick when you are buying for a person whose planning year does not start in January - teachers, students, anyone on a fiscal or academic calendar.
| Dating | Undated, 12 monthsThe buyer fills in the dates, so the book can start in any month.Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic 12 Month Undated Weekly Planner |
|---|---|
| Size | Large, 5" x 8.25"Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic 12 Month Undated Weekly Planner |
| Cover | Hard cover, blackSource: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic 12 Month Undated Weekly Planner |
| Paper weight | Not publishedNot stated on the listing. |
What it does well
- Cannot be made obsolete by the calendar, so it is safe to buy early and safe to give late.
- Does not collide with a planner they may have already bought for the year.
- Same familiar Moleskine object, so the gift still reads as a gift.
What it does not
- Somebody has to hand-write the dates, and some people find that a chore rather than a feature.
- No public paper weight.
Skip this: if the recipient is the sort of person who wants everything printed for them. Undated planners reward people who like filling things in, and irritate everyone else.

4. Someone who writes a lot every day
Moleskine Classic 12-Month 2027 Daily Planner, Large
A full page per day, 400 pages of it, for the person whose weekly planner is always overflowing.
#ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded
400 pages against the weekly edition's 144 is the entire difference between these two books, and it is a difference in commitment rather than quality. A page a day is roughly 2.7 times the paper and a noticeably thicker block in the hand.
The failure mode of a daily planner is blank pages. If the recipient writes three lines a day, a daily layout gives them 362 pages of visible guilt. If they write fifteen, a weekly spread runs out by Wednesday.
This is the safer buy when you have actually seen them write, and the riskier one when you have not.
| Dated range | January to December 2027Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Daily Planner, Large |
|---|---|
| Layout | One page per daySource: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Daily Planner, Large |
| Pages | 400Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Daily Planner, Large |
| Size | Large, 5" x 8.25"Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine 2027 12-Month Daily Planner, Large |
What it does well
- A genuine full page per day, which almost no planner at this price offers.
- Same dated 2027 range and same cover language as the weekly, so it reads as a considered upgrade.
- Thick enough to double as the only book they carry.
What it does not
- Heavy and bulky compared with the weekly edition.
- Punishing to use if the recipient does not write daily.
- No published paper weight, same as the rest of the range.
Skip this: if you have never seen how much they actually write. A daily page is a commitment device, and gifting a commitment device to someone who did not ask for one lands badly.

5. The recognizable pocket option
Moleskine Volant Journal, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2
Two soft-cover pocket notebooks at the same 3.5 by 5.5 inch footprint, ruled, from the brand everybody knows by sight.
#ad Price as of September 21, 2026. How this is funded
Same footprint as the Field Notes pack and a different proposition. This is the recognizable one, and for a gift that is worth something concrete - the recipient knows what it is before they open it.
The unstated paper weight is the real trade. Moleskine publishes 70 gsm on its Classic hardcovers and nothing at all here, which means the one specification that would let you compare the two packs directly is missing on this side.
Two books rather than three, in bright soft covers rather than kraft card. That makes it more of an object and less of a supply - a reasonable trade in a gift, a poor one for somebody who fills a pocket book a fortnight.
| Size | 3.5" x 5.5", pocketSource: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
|---|---|
| Quantity | Set of 2Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
| Cover | Soft cover, coral orange and aqua blueSource: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
| Ruling and pages | Ruled, 80 pagesThe listing does not say whether the 80 pages are per notebook or across the pair.Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
| Paper weight | Not publishedNot stated on this listing. Moleskine publishes 70 gsm for the Classic hardcover line but says nothing here, so treat it as unknown rather than assuming. |
What it does well
- Instantly recognizable, which does real work in a gift.
- Soft covers bend with a back pocket instead of fighting it.
- Ruled pages suit quick notes and lists.
What it does not
- No published paper weight, so a pen user is buying blind.
- Two to a pack rather than three.
- Bright colored covers are a style choice not every recipient wants.
Skip this: if the recipient uses a fountain pen. Without a published weight this is a coin toss, and the Field Notes pack states 90 gsm - see what gsm means.
The paper, which is the one thing to know before you buy
Moleskine publishes 70 gsm for the Classic hardcover line. That is the lightest paper of any notebook on this site, and it is the single most common complaint about the brand: gel and fountain-pen ink show through the reverse of the page more than they do on an 80 or 90 gsm book.
Worth putting fairly: 70 gsm is completely fine for a pencil, a ballpoint or a fine gel pen, which is what most people write with. It is a problem for a wet nib and it is a problem if you write on both sides and mind seeing the other one. Leuchtturm1917 vs Moleskine is the head-to-head, and what gsm means explains the number.
Weekly or daily, decided by how much you write
A weekly Moleskine gives a week across an opening, which is enough for appointments and a short list per day. The daily gives a full page per day and runs to 400 pages, which is a thicker, heavier book that suits anybody who writes properly rather than just scheduling.
The failure mode is buying the daily and leaving most of it blank, which feels worse than it sounds. If you are unsure, weekly is the safer buy - daily vs weekly works through the choice in more depth.
The undated one exists for a specific problem
A dated planner bought as a gift has a deadline attached. Give it in November and the recipient has to start in January; give it in March and a third of the book is already spent. The undated weekly removes both problems, because the dates are written in by the person using it.
The cost is twelve months of dates to fill in by hand, which some people enjoy and others find a chore. Dated vs undated has the full argument, and should you gift a planner is the gift version of the same question.
What you are paying for, honestly
Recognition, mostly, and it is worth something real. A Moleskine is the one notebook a recipient can identify before they open the card, which is why it appears on this site's gift pages far more often than its paper weight alone would justify.
What you are not paying for is the heaviest paper, the most pages or printed page numbers - three things competitors publish and Moleskine does not match. If any of those is your priority, the honest answer is a different brand: are expensive notebooks worth it prices that trade out properly.
Questions people actually ask
Which Moleskine should I buy?
The Classic hardcover if you want blank pages to write in, a 2027 weekly or daily if you want a printed diary, and the undated weekly if it is a gift or you are not starting in January.
What is the difference between Moleskine Classic and Volant?
The Classic is a hardcover with 240 pages at Large size; the Volant is a soft-cover pair at pocket size with 80 pages. The Classic is a book you keep, the Volant is something you carry and fill.
What paper weight is a Moleskine?
Moleskine publishes 70 gsm for the Classic hardcover line, which is the lightest paper on this site. It publishes no weight at all for the Volant or the undated weekly planner.
Is Moleskine paper bad for fountain pens?
At 70 gsm it shows fountain-pen ink through the page more than an 80 or 90 gsm book does. A fine nib with a dry ink is usually survivable; a wet or broad nib is not. See notebooks for fountain pens.
Weekly or daily Moleskine planner?
Weekly for appointments and short lists, daily if you write a proper entry most days. The daily runs to 400 pages and is a noticeably thicker book.