Notebooks & Journals
4 Pocket Notebooks, and the One That Publishes Its Paper
Pocket notebooks are where paper quality usually disappears, on the assumption that nobody checks a book this small. One of these checks.

How this page is funded. Buying through a link here earns us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order we recommend it in, and we have not handled these products ourselves — see how we pick and the full disclosure.
A pocket notebook is a capture device, not a journal. It exists to catch the thing you will otherwise forget between the car and the door, and it gets filled and replaced rather than kept and filled. That is why they are sold in packs.
It is also the format where paper specifications quietly vanish, because the assumption is that nobody checks a book this small. One of the four below does publish a weight, and it changes the recommendation.
Quick picks
Ranked for the person doing the buying. Every pick names who it is wrong for.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Field Notes Original Kraft 3-Pack, Ruled Three 48-page memo books on 90 gsm acid-free stock - the only pocket notebook here that states a paper weight at all. | A pocket book that publishes its paper | $12.95 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded |
| 2 | ![]() Moleskine Volant Journal, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 Two soft-cover pocket notebooks at the same 3.5 by 5.5 inch footprint, ruled, from the brand everybody knows by sight. | The recognizable pocket option | $8.88 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded |
| 3 | ![]() LEUCHTTURM1917 Medium A5 Dotted Hardcover Notebook, Bauhaus Special Edition 80 gsm paper, 251 numbered pages and a printed contents page, which is why this is the default recommendation in every journaling forum. | The bullet-journal standard | $31.50 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded |
| 4 | ![]() Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover The notebook everyone knows by sight, on 70 gsm paper that is lighter than its main rival and honest about it. | The recognizable one | $17.67 - View on Amazon #ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded |

1. A pocket book that publishes its paper
Field Notes Original Kraft 3-Pack, Ruled
Three 48-page memo books on 90 gsm acid-free stock - the only pocket notebook here that states a paper weight at all.
#ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded
Ninety gsm in a pocket notebook is genuinely unusual and it is the entire reason this is the first pick. Pocket books are normally where paper quality goes to die - thin stock, because nobody expects to check. This one publishes the same weight class as the site's top full-size recommendation.
Forty-eight pages per book sounds slight and is the correct size for the format. A pocket notebook is a capture device; it gets filled in a few weeks and replaced, which is why they are sold in threes.
Acid-free matters more here than the page count. These are the notes you transcribe later, and a saddle-stitched book that yellows in a drawer defeats the purpose of having captured anything.
| Paper weight | 60 lb (90 gsm) Finch Opaque, acid freeThe same weight class as the Rhodia Webnotebook, in a book a fraction of the size.Source: Amazon listing - Field Notes Original Kraft 3-Pack |
|---|---|
| Size | 3.5" x 5.5"Source: Amazon listing - Field Notes Original Kraft 3-Pack |
| Pages | 48 per book, ruledThree books in the pack, so 144 pages in total.Source: Amazon listing - Field Notes Original Kraft 3-Pack |
| Printing | Soy-based inkSource: Amazon listing - Field Notes Original Kraft 3-Pack |
What it does well
- 90 gsm published, which no other pocket notebook in this comparison states.
- Acid-free, so a filled book survives being kept.
- Three to a pack, which matches how the format is actually used.
What it does not
- 48 pages goes fast if you write more than a few lines a day.
- Ruled only in this pack - no dot grid option here.
- Saddle-stitched rather than bound, so it will not lie flat when new.
Skip this: if what you want is one book that lasts a year. This is a consumable bought three at a time, and somebody expecting a single durable journal will find it slight. Buy an A5 hardcover instead - see notebooks for writers.

2. The recognizable pocket option
Moleskine Volant Journal, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2
Two soft-cover pocket notebooks at the same 3.5 by 5.5 inch footprint, ruled, from the brand everybody knows by sight.
#ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded
Same footprint as the Field Notes pack and a different proposition. This is the recognizable one, and for a gift that is worth something concrete - the recipient knows what it is before they open it.
The unstated paper weight is the real trade. Moleskine publishes 70 gsm on its Classic hardcovers and nothing at all here, which means the one specification that would let you compare the two packs directly is missing on this side.
Two books rather than three, in bright soft covers rather than kraft card. That makes it more of an object and less of a supply - a reasonable trade in a gift, a poor one for somebody who fills a pocket book a fortnight.
| Size | 3.5" x 5.5", pocketSource: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
|---|---|
| Quantity | Set of 2Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
| Cover | Soft cover, coral orange and aqua blueSource: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
| Ruling and pages | Ruled, 80 pagesThe listing does not say whether the 80 pages are per notebook or across the pair.Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Volant Journal, Soft Cover, Pocket, Ruled, Set of 2 |
| Paper weight | Not publishedNot stated on this listing. Moleskine publishes 70 gsm for the Classic hardcover line but says nothing here, so treat it as unknown rather than assuming. |
What it does well
- Instantly recognizable, which does real work in a gift.
- Soft covers bend with a back pocket instead of fighting it.
- Ruled pages suit quick notes and lists.
What it does not
- No published paper weight, so a pen user is buying blind.
- Two to a pack rather than three.
- Bright colored covers are a style choice not every recipient wants.
Skip this: if the recipient uses a fountain pen. Without a published weight this is a coin toss, and the Field Notes pack states 90 gsm - see what gsm means.

3. The bullet-journal standard
LEUCHTTURM1917 Medium A5 Dotted Hardcover Notebook, Bauhaus Special Edition
80 gsm paper, 251 numbered pages and a printed contents page, which is why this is the default recommendation in every journaling forum.
#ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded
Numbered pages plus a printed contents page is the whole reason bullet journaling settled on this book. An index needs page numbers, and printing them saves the user writing 251 of them.
80 gsm against the Moleskine Classic's published 70 gsm is a 14 percent difference in paper weight, and it is the difference most people notice as ghosting on the reverse of a page.
Two ribbons is not decoration in a journal that has an index. One marks the index, one marks today.
| Paper weight | 80 gsmSource: Amazon listing - LEUCHTTURM1917 Dotted Hardcover Notebook Medium A5 Bauhaus Special Edition (Black) |
|---|---|
| Pages | 251 numbered pages, with 8 perforated detachable sheetsSource: Amazon listing - LEUCHTTURM1917 Dotted Hardcover Notebook Medium A5 Bauhaus Special Edition (Black) |
| Size | A5, approximately 5.75" x 8.25" (145 x 210 mm)Source: Amazon listing - LEUCHTTURM1917 Dotted Hardcover Notebook Medium A5 Bauhaus Special Edition (Black) |
| Fittings | Blank table of contents, two page markers, gusseted rear pocket, elastic band, archival stickersSource: Amazon listing - LEUCHTTURM1917 Dotted Hardcover Notebook Medium A5 Bauhaus Special Edition (Black) |
| Binding | Thread bound, opens flatSource: Amazon listing - LEUCHTTURM1917 Dotted Hardcover Notebook Medium A5 Bauhaus Special Edition (Black) |
What it does well
- 251 pre-numbered pages and a blank contents page, ready for an index.
- 80 gsm published, the heaviest of the three mainstream hardcovers here.
- Thread bound, so it lies flat from the first page.
What it does not
- Still not fountain-pen-proof; 80 gsm reduces show-through, it does not eliminate it.
- The dot grid is fainter than some users want for straight-line work.
Skip this: if the recipient has never mentioned journaling. A 251-page dotted notebook handed to a non-journaler is 251 blank pages of obligation. See how to pick a journal as a gift.

4. The recognizable one
Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover
The notebook everyone knows by sight, on 70 gsm paper that is lighter than its main rival and honest about it.
#ad Price as of October 21, 2026. How this is funded
70 gsm versus 80 is the entire technical argument between this and the Leuchtturm1917, and it is a real one: lighter paper shows more of what is on the reverse. Whether that matters depends entirely on what the recipient writes with.
What Moleskine has that its rival does not is recognition. For a gift that is worth something concrete - the recipient knows what it is before they open the card.
No page numbers and no contents page. For freeform notes that is irrelevant; for an indexed journal it is 240 numbers to write by hand.
| Paper weight | 70 gsmMoleskine publishes this, and it is 10 gsm under the Leuchtturm1917.Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
|---|---|
| Pages | 240Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
| Size | Large, 5" x 8.25"Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
| Paper stock | FSC certified, acid free (pH neutral)Source: Amazon listing - Moleskine Classic Notebook, Large, Dotted, Hard Cover |
| Page numbers | Not publishedPages are not numbered and there is no printed contents page. A bullet journal user will number them by hand. |
What it does well
- Universally recognized, which does real work in a gift.
- FSC certified, acid-free paper with a published weight.
- Slightly thinner block than the Leuchtturm for the same page count, so it carries better.
What it does not
- 70 gsm ghosts more than 80 gsm with gel and fountain pens.
- No pre-numbered pages or contents page.
Skip this: if you know they use a fountain pen. Buy the Rhodia at 90 gsm instead and spend the difference on ink. See Leuchtturm1917 versus Moleskine.
The published-paper finding
This is the reason the order is what it is. Across the two genuine pocket packs here, one states 60 lb (90 gsm) acid-free stock and the other states nothing at all.
| Notebook | Size | Paper weight | Pages |
|---|---|---|---|
| Field Notes Original Kraft, 3-pack | 3.5" x 5.5" | 60 lb / 90 gsm, acid free | 48 per book |
| Moleskine Volant Pocket, set of 2 | 3.5" x 5.5" | Not published | 80, per the listing |
| LEUCHTTURM1917 A5 | 145 x 210 mm, about 5.75" x 8.25" | 80 gsm | 251 numbered |
| Moleskine Classic Large | 5" x 8.25" | 70 gsm, acid free | 240 |
Ninety gsm in a pocket book is genuinely unusual - it is the same weight class as the heaviest full-size notebook on this site, in a format where thin stock is the norm. If the pocket notebook is going anywhere near a fountain pen or a wet gel, that is the whole decision. What gsm means explains why the number decides it.
Why two of these are not pocket notebooks
Because the honest answer to "which pocket notebook" is often "do not buy a pocket notebook." Both A5-ish books above are on this list as the counterproposal, and it is a real one.
- 48 pages is about a fortnight for anybody who writes more than a few lines a day. Three of them is six weeks. If you are filling books rather than capturing scraps, that is a treadmill.
- Saddle-stitched books do not lie flat when new. A thread-bound A5 does, from page one, which matters more than it sounds when you are writing on a knee.
- No page numbers, no index. For anything you intend to search later, a pocket book is the wrong container.
So the test is simple: are you capturing or writing? Capture is a pocket book. Writing at length is A5, and notebooks for writers has that comparison in full. If the capture is meeting notes, notebooks for meetings ranks the field on getting a page out again.
What the format is genuinely good at
Three things, and they are not small.
- It is always there. A book that fits a back pocket or a jacket gets carried when an A5 stays on a desk, and the notebook you have with you beats the better one you left behind.
- It is disposable enough to be used badly. Nobody is precious about a kraft memo book, which means it gets written in fast and messily - which is exactly what a capture device should invite.
- Filling one is achievable. Reaching the last page of a 48-page book happens; reaching the last page of a 251-page book takes months, and the finishing is part of what keeps the habit going.
Binding, and what it costs you
The Field Notes pack is saddle-stitched - folded sheets stapled through the spine - and the Moleskine listing does not state its binding. Saddle-stitch is why a pocket book can be cheap, thin, and take a back-pocket curve without cracking.
The cost is that a saddle-stitched book will not lie flat until it has been opened and bent a few times, and the staples are the failure point if it gets soaked. The visible difference between the two packs is the covers: kraft card on the Field Notes, bright soft covers on the Moleskine. How saddle-stitch compares with every other binding is on notebook types explained.
What to skip
- A pocket notebook for somebody who journals. People who fill notebooks fill A5 ones, and 48 pages will read as a token.
- A leather cover for a pocket book, unless they have asked. It doubles the bulk of the thing whose entire virtue is that it disappears into a pocket.
- A pocket book with no published paper, if a fountain pen is involved. That is a coin toss on the one specification that matters.
- Buying one. They are sold in packs of two or three because that is how they are used - a single pocket notebook is half a purchase. That is also what makes a pack the most efficient thing in a stocking stuffer haul: one purchase, several stockings.
Questions people actually ask
What is the best pocket notebook?
The one that publishes its paper weight. Of the pocket packs compared here, one states 90 gsm acid-free stock and the other states nothing, which settles it if any real pen is involved.
What size is a pocket notebook?
The common standard is 3.5" x 5.5", which is what both packs here use. That fits a back pocket, a jacket pocket and most bags.
How many pages should a pocket notebook have?
Around 48 is standard and it is roughly a fortnight of real use. They are sold in packs of two or three because the format is a consumable rather than a keepsake.
Should I buy a pocket notebook or an A5?
Capture is a pocket book; writing at length is A5. If you are filling books rather than catching scraps, 48 pages at a time becomes a treadmill.
Do pocket notebooks lie flat?
Not when new, if they are saddle-stitched. The Field Notes pack is stapled through the spine, which is why it is thin and cheap and takes a pocket curve - and why it needs bending open a few times first. The Moleskine listing does not state its binding.